You are viewing the legacy Pathfinder Reference Document website.
Paizo Inc. has now partnered with Archives of Nethys to provide the online version of the Pathfinder RPG rules at
Learn more.

Pathfinder Reference Document
Pathfinder Reference Document

Prestige Classes

Prestige classes represent specializations not available to most adventurers, the culmination of extensive practice in a specific field or discipline. The eight prestige classes here supplement those found in Chapter 11 of the Core Rulebook. Always check with your GM to make sure a given prestige class is allowed before working toward it. The prestige classes presented in this chapter include the following.

Battle Herald: A veteran whose masterful tactics and air of command inspire allies to greater feats of heroism.

Holy Vindicator: A pious warrior who spreads religion at the edge of a sword.

Horizon Walker: A scout and wanderer comfortable in even the strangest terrain.

Master Chymist: An alchemist whose mutagens create an alternate, brutish personality.

Master Spy: An espionage expert specializing in disguises and striking swiftly from the shadows.

Nature Warden: A master of the wilderness bonded spiritually to a fearsome animal companion.

Rage Prophet: A bold and barbaric champion who embraces otherworldly powers in order to perfect the art of combat.

Stalwart Defender: A master of defending territory and holding the line at all costs.

Definition of Terms

Below are definitions of some common terms used here.

Core Class: One of the standard eleven classes found in the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook.

Base Class: A class that progresses from level 1–20.

Caster Level: Generally equal to the number of class levels (see below) in a spellcasting class. Some prestige classes add caster levels to an existing class.

Character Level: The sum of a character's class levels.

Class Level: The level of a character in a particular class.